Six Taper-tots

Did I mention I don’t like this non-running thing… or this non-drinking thing. Although I guess 6 miles and drinking wine really doesn’t count as “none”. But it is “not a lot”, which is unusual for yours truly. But I ended up having a great run yesterday. Valley Forge is becoming my new favorite running place. Some of the things I like are that it is really nice and peaceful, you feel like you are out in the middle of no-where (pretty much because you are) – sorry, I am a city girl! There is barely anyone there during the week, so no one to trip you up or manuever around. No bikers to almost run you over and tell you that you need to get out of the way. Apparently they own the path even though John B. Kelly was a rower and NOT a biker, thank you. Anyway, some of the VF path is wooded, and you also get your hill work in at the same time. Number one reason, awesome bathrooms with actual sinks!

shade and serenity

my new house if i don't stop spending money

sink!

As opposed to porta-potties on KD, which I would never even dare taking a picture of because it would be deemed as “inappropriate”, or “adult content”. Some of the things that I don’t like are the power plant in the background (always creeps me out), I think the fields are crawling with ticks – which they probably are. And this scary sign that I found the other day… they are all over the place.  Just in case you can’t read  I didn’t take a good picture it reads “Asbestos Cancer and Lung Disease Hazard, Authorized Personnel Only, Respirators and Protective Clothing are Required in this Area”. WTF? Actually I figured out later that apparently it’s only if you are digging in the area. Still… I’m sure it’s awesome for the environment. Anyway…  I tried to stay at a slow pace… I think I averaged around 9 min miles, which I should have slowed down a little bit more, especially with the hills. I will be careful from here on out though with my taper. Did I mention how I hate tapering? Yeah, I think we got that down by now. I stopped a few times to take some pictures though (finally!), and took it easy, no pressure.. and I really did enjoy it.

ticks galore

power plant ruining the view

WTF!?

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
WORKOUT – 3 easy’s, yoga
 
 
Leave a Reply

