Pack it up, Pack it in

race day stuff

Let me begin. Ok, not sure what it is with the old school rap lately in my head. But it is fun and motivating! I neeeeed motivation to pack. I think I finally got all my race gear together. Which looks like it is gonig to take up half my suitcase. Most importantly sneaks – CHECK! Which I will be carrying with me for sure, along with my actual race attire. TNT singlet so that I can fit into the sea of purple people that will be running, Fav socks and undies, shorts and throw-a-way. Race food – oatmeal, Stingers, Emergen-C, Nuun (for after), salt packs, and Sharkies (just because I love them). Prep is of course Body Glide, HIC Surfer Sunblock spf 50 (because I love surfers),  Anti Monkey Butt (for my feet, not by butt – well maybe?- I think I use this as more of a ritual then it actually does anything), Burts Bees lip balm and althetic tape (just in case). Then there’s hair ties, markers and fun stuff. The necessities – Garmin (who needs a name still??), earbuds, sunglasses, fitness belt (to carry all my crap – might as well be a fanny pack!). And post race bag for flip- flops (must!), fresh sunglasses and tissues (for all the crying I will be doing when I finally cross the finish line). It sounds like a lot and looks like it could also give me trouble zippering my suitcase but I “think – eek!” that is it!

Love all my runnning products by the way. Most of them I discovered from Danica who I am psyched I may actually get to meet this weekend! 🙂

too much stuff

Ready to hit the road!! Whatever I forgot I can always buy at the expo (at a higher price and with RnR logo on it). Which if you don’t know me already, there’d be a good guess I’ll be doing a little purchasing there anyway. 🙂 Tomorrow morning will be coffee plus old school rap plus getting up at the butt crack of dawn for the flight – let’s do the damn thing!!

WORKOUT – yoga, taper pool

4 responses

  1. Marta Myland

    I am so proud of you and no matter what happens from here… you rock, just for the heart behind your training and the determination you have to have gotten this far! Just think of “can u dig it” if you start to lose your motivation during the race… we are ALL with you in spirit:)

    June 2, 2011 at 2:24 pm

  2. Ian Savitz

    Go get ’em April. So great that you are doing this. Unfortunately, I didn’t get word of your prep for and pursuit of this until now. Awesome stuff! Enjoy San Diego while you’re there. Best of luck. You’ll do great…after all, you had several years of training at Motivation Fitness under your belt:)

    June 3, 2011 at 12:48 pm

  3. Emily

    Love how you packed our “matching scarf!”
    So proud of you! After you see SD you may not want to come home!

    June 3, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  4. Pingback: Off the Grid « Running Rocks

Leave a Reply

