Let it Roll off

aaaaah i want to run

Took Murph on another long walk today on Kelly Drive. We did 5 miles, up past Boathouse Row and turn around at Lloyd Hall. I ended up seeing a dude proudly sporting his RnR San Diego Marathon shirt and we started talking about the race. He said this was his first day back running since and also mentioned that the pitch during the highway section killed him also. Good – I am not the only one who is all busted up because of that! It was a tough part and I’m sure not good for your body to be running on such a slant. He did mention though how he thought the hills were a lot worse and harder then he originally planned (I didn’t agree, ssh – kept my mouth shut on that one), because I felt totally prepared for the hills. It was nice to relate to someone else’s running woes for the moment and whine a little bit together. I wished him luck on his run.

So on our turn around I decided to pick it up and just run!! (oops – I couldn’t help it). I wanted to test it out and see how it would be and I also wanted to get back because I have a million things to do today. A little light jog felt good and ankle wasn’t too bad. We’ll see what happens later. I saw RnR dude on the way back and he was walking – he said his legs just hurt too bad to do it today! Aaaaah, the marathon love and hate. Actually just love.

I got a tiny little run in (prob 2.5miles at about 1,635min per mile speed). Felt good, and was crossing over the path to head back to the car and some A-hole biker comes zooming up to me yelling, literally yelling and waving at me to walk on the right side of the path. Um, excuse me for crossing over to get back to my car!? I’m sorry… I forgot you own Kelly Drive. I always follow the “stay to the right” rules and am respectful of other people so this dude really pissed me off. I told him to F-off and shove his bike you know where – pretty sure he didn’t hear the last part though. So rude! I need to let people and things like that roll off my back though. If he wants to be a jerk and live his life like that then that’s his call. Karma, baby!! – it all comes around. So I tried to smile and secretly picture him falling off his bike later.

WORKOUT– 5 mile Murph walk/run? , yoga

4 responses

  1. kim desko

    “So I tried to smile and secretly picture him falling off his bike later.”

    LOL! April, I knew there was a reason I liked you at practice, even if you are WAY faster than I am at this point .

    Are you doing anything with TNT this fall?

    June 15, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    • haha, thanks! glad you liked that one. not sure about TNT this fall but i’d love to do something again in the spring/summer team. or the disney marathon!

      June 15, 2011 at 4:28 pm

  2. Andrew

    Not all of us bikers are a-hoes 🙂

    June 20, 2011 at 6:02 pm

  3. Pingback: First 14 « Running Rocks

Leave a Reply

