Good ‘Ol Sneaks

sneaky sneaks

I recently have gotten some running questions, which I love! Who doesn’t love talking about themselves running? One of the questions was when to replace your old running sneakers. Typically I replace mine every 300 miles, (that meant I obsessivley counted and wrote down each mile), now I just wing it and have a basic idea when I’ve put on about 300 or so. I would say anywhere between 3-500 is a good range. For me when I’m training I guess that is about every 3 months. If you are logging about 30-40 miles per week. I went through two pairs during the marathon training from February through June so that I had a semi-new pair but broken in for the marathon. Sometimes you can tell when they are starting to get a little worn out anyway. A good trick is to actually buy two pairs at once, if you find ones that you really love and know you will be running a lot or training for something. Then you can switch them up part way through your training and break them in really well. The Running Warehouse is a great spot to get running deals on sneaks or any other gear. Getting new sneakers is one of my most favorite things to do! There is nothing like putting on a new pair and thinking, wow I am going to hit up about 300 miles on you! This article is also a good one on replacing your shoes. Also if yours really really stink and or have the soles and laces hanging off of them, that might be a good time too 😉

 
WORKOUT – 1 hour bike, jm dvd
One response

  1. Deborah Witcoskie

    Here is a question…can those worn out shoes be put to good use? What is worn out to a runner may be a wonderful gift to a barefoot person. always trying to recycle 🙂

    June 23, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Leave a Reply

