The Point of no Return

kd

 Woke up super stressed out! I thought I had everything in order with moving and signing my lease and having my renters in, all in perfect timing, however found out yesterday that that is not the case. Now I have no renters… and possibly no lease. NOT the plan I was going for. This whole moving thing is a lot more stressful than I thought, add-on the fact that it’s also an another emotional hurdle to get over. Plus finals week doesn’t help. Let me tell you it’s one thing to get through the year that I did last year and then it’s another to completely change your life in every way possible. Going from a couple to a single person is an adjustment in itself, then add-on all the extras (career, moving, being on my own again, making new friends and keeping old ones – just because that’s the natural progression of life, even getting back into the social scene because it’s been a year away). It’s scary to know everything is all dependent upon YOU and only you. Finances, house stuff, decisions, all responsibilities, your future.

So what is a person to do. Suck it up and run! Look at the bright side and see it as a major life change and a gift and new chance on life. That is what I have been doing all along and what I’ll continue to do.

KD felt great today!! What an amazingly gorgeous day out. I started out thinking I would run 8 and hit up Kelly Drive going towards West River… there’s a spot once past the bridge where you can look across and see where your car is parked. I call that the point of no return because by then you might as well just continue on and do that loop around back to the car. WR isn’t exactly the safest place to be running alone during the week (where is though, really?), so I picked up my pace and there were a lot of people out. Past the Art Museum I still felt good and made it back to the car around 8.6ish. At that point I figured I might as well shoot for 10 because I wasn’t hurting yet. 10, 11 came… let’s make it a half marathon while we are at it!! Why not!!?

WORKOUT – 13.1 / 1:55

Besides… life can’t be that bad when yesterday started off with coffee and getting nails done. It’ll all work out. – it always does. 🙂

green

3 responses

  1. kim desko

    As I approach the anniversary of the day my late husband went into the hospital with acute GVH, the anniversary of the beginning of the end of his life, on July 5th, I have been very up & down emotionally. Losing my dad at the beginning of the month and finishing the Lake Placid 1/2 3 weeks ago has probably added to the turmoil. A friend who has been listening to me second guess myself (backwards & forwards) and my choice to start over (don’t know why he puts up with me sometimes), sent me the following:

    “Beginnings are only possible where there are endings. Clear acknowledged endings are as necessary to intelligible life as pauses between notes to intelligible music. Although endings sometimes feel like the end of you, take them for what they really are – the end of a stage in your life. Here is to new beginnings!”

    April, I understand, I truly do. And if you ever want to talk to someone walking a similar path, let me know. Some days there just is no easy way to face the reality that life is not what it’s supposed to be, it’s what it is…….it’s how we choose to respond to what life gives us that matters. And from what I’ve seen of you, sunshine, you are doing this the same way I am – eyes wide open, grateful for ever second you had, and stepping forward into whatever life has for us next.

    I am heading for Valley Green after work today – I’ve got 5 or 6 miles calling me (although, since I am not Speedy Gonzalez like you, it’ll take me almost as long to cover that shorter distance).

    June 29, 2011 at 5:22 pm

  2. very emotional post. i hope you find new renters! you will love living in center city. very exciting time! keep on running & smiling.

    June 29, 2011 at 7:51 pm

  3. Pingback: Workout Recap – 7.12.11 « Running Rocks

Leave a Reply

