The Three Things

saxy

Someone once gave me some really good advice… and it goes like this: write down three things that you are thankful for each day, and why. Three things in your life that you are excited about when you start off your day. Or at the end of the day, things you accomplished and feel good about and are thankful you got to do. The way I started out doing this is: write down three great things that happened to me the day before, three things that I am excited to happen that day (helps if you do it in the morning), and then at the end of the day, what you accomplished and are grateful for. Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow – love the way that sounds. So pretty much that’s nine things… but you get the idea. Once you get the hang of it you can start to just use 3 – or make mental notes instead of actually writing them out. They can be stupid little things or super important things, but either way it will always make you feel better, trust me!

For example today I can say I was happy that I got to sit outside on Main Street on this gorgeous day and drink coffee and text study (jk, I really did get a lot of studying done). Another was that I found some new avenues to find renters, and decided that whatever happens, happens and I’ll get my place rented and sign my lease one way or another (because I rock like that) 😉 – again, kidding. And thirdly I get the opportunity to kick my final’s butt and be done with class for a few days… this is more of a wish, but I am hoping it comes true. So try it out once in a while, because I’m telling you it works great!!

Here is one of mine from awhile back: Saturday April 16th, 2011

Yesterday: 1.learned a lot in class, one step closer to a new career 2.rested my ankle, better for sunday’s run 3.talked to ‘said’ person and he gave me this great idea

Today: 1.rest my ankle, drink water, get ready for run 2.errands, cross things off my to-do list 3.get nails done, fun

Tomorrow: 1.run 16 miles, psyched! 2.head to mountains, relaxation time 3.drink, food, lake, fun, spend time with rents

no more dev psy

 
WORKOUT – dvd
2 responses

  1. kim desko

    April, could you share your “new avenues” to finding renters with me. I’ve got a friend that is trying to rent his house in Elkins Park since he can’t sell it in this market. Thanks!

    July 1, 2011 at 2:51 pm

  2. love this idea, april! it reminds me of my friend christine’s “3 simple joys” concept…i posted 3 of my own this week! http://www.laurenmartingauthier.com/2011/07/03/3-simple-joys-inspired-by-christine/

    July 10, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Leave a Reply

