What Does This Really Mean?

26.2

Twenty Six Point Two – so lately I’ve been thinking about this number, seeing it everywhere. Even odd times like on the Turnpike driving home from the mountains. There are those digital signs that say how many miles you have to go til a certain exit and how long it will take. Most of the time I hate them because I am driving on 76 and it says ‘.03 miles to go til Green Lane exit, and you are home – travel time 45 minutes’. But yes I did see a 26.2 miles to go sign. Love the number and it means so, so much. To me, that is because I am crazy like that. But lately I have not been feeling so great about myself. Not running a lot, not getting as good a grade in class as I want. Feeling overwhelmed with everything and not being able to do it all! Go to every event, hang out with all my friends, get into school, trying to heal mentally, finances, moving, etc, etc.

Then when I think about the marathon and the mileage I get a sense of accomplishment, proud-ness, endearing-ness for the ability. And I feel ‘all good’ again! Too bad I can’t get paid for running…

And yes, I still have green nails.

WORKOUT – 3 miles/4 miles, jm dvd

6 responses

  1. Michele Shaw

    don’t lose the feeling….i came back from the DR on a mission trip and still fighting deep depression, my Pastor told me not to lose the feelings that I had down there…make them work in my everyday life…April, you are an inspiration to me an the rest of the family , not to mention everyone who reads your blog…You have strength and courage that most of us just dream about…Keep going cousin, I love reading about how you are making a path of your own for others to follow…I am proud to call you family and know that you are loved and blessed beyond comprehension …God bless you and know that you are always in my thoughts and prayers

    July 10, 2011 at 3:29 am

  2. Sorry to hear you’ve been down on yourself, April. Sadly, it’s so easy to slip into that place. I’ve been planning a post on my blog about how easily we generalize our failures, but how we DON’T tend to generalize our amazing accomplishments. Hope you can hang onto the feeling of accomplishment, and then apply it across the board to everything else you’ve got going on…

    July 10, 2011 at 11:53 pm

  3. kim desko

    Hang in there April. It’s hard and you’re doing this on your own, which is not what you planned or expected. Some days it’s two steps forward, some days it’s a step back – what’s important is that you are engaged in your life and have goals and are working towards them. Henry Ford said “Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off your goal.” And he was right – it gets pretty overwhelming when I lose sight of my goals.

    You are stronger than you think you are and you can do more than you think you can. You’ve already accomplished something that 95% of the population never will – 26.2!

    Don’t forget that and try not to be so hard on yourself (I am my own worst critic, so I know how difficult that can be). It does get easier, promise.

    July 11, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Leave a Reply

