Workout Recap – 7.12.11

Another recap! What an amazing run today. Yeah it was HOT and tough but loved every second of it and a little surprised at myself for pushing through it. Super sick yesterday so I knew if I felt good today I’d bang out a really good run and hopefully sweat out all my sickness. Not sure if that really works and I’m sure it’s not in the medical books but it always makes me feel better anyway. I parked at my fav spot on Kelly Drive and did an up and back to the Art Museum, which is 6 miles. Stopped back at the car to finish my coffee, grab some water and stretch. I knew I wanted to do a longer run so I set out towards the East Falls Bridge and the point of no return. Felt good around West River so I just kept going and had that “16” pop into my head. Uh oh… too late now, I am doing it! WR gets super sunny and hot, especially running right next to 76 (bleh), so about mile 11 I was really looking for some shade, breeze and water. Looped around the Art M and found my breeze, yay! Mile 13/14 ice bath, ice water, flip flops – all I could think about! Started to get tough but I knew I was doing this whether I had to slow down my pace or not, which I kinda did I guess? I wasn’t very consistent on pacing today to begin with. Mile 15 – one word Journey. Score – I had this. Seriously… how can you not get psyched up when you hear this song? PS – I threw in the Philly version.

16 miles / 2:29 / Avg 9:19

Splits – 9:01, 8:57, 9:13, 9:35, 8:56, 9:03, 9:00, 9:46, 9:26, 9:10, 9:02, 9:31, 9:45, 9:19, 9:26, 9:54

Leave a Reply

