Yoga to a Tea

tea time

Starbucks really should be paying me for doing their advertising.

Yoga for runners… love Christine Felstead’s series of DVDs! I have been using her beginner’s DVD since I started training for San Diego last spring. It was starting to get a little boring since I do it everyday, and could basically repeat word for word what she was going to say next. I thought I needed some more challenging poses as well, especially in the hip region to better balance myself and stretch out my ITB, hips and stance. So I picked up the intermediate version last week and started it on Saturday – yes, up the mountains and all! I LOVE it! The sequence of poses are super challenging (for me), and I can already feel a difference in my posture and stance. Today I did the whole session all the way through – an hour and twenty minutes and afterwards I felt amazing! The only downfall is that Christine talks about running throughout the entire time and that’s all I can think about. Need to keep telling myself, I will get back there and be able to hit the pavement again soon. Patience!

So to go along with my healthy morning I decided on a green tea at SB’s instead of a coffee. Much better decision after my caffeine overload yesterday and Monday. I’m sure all this healthiness is good for my cold too. I doubt your body reacts well when it’s pumped up with 260+ milligrams (and that’s just a tall!) of caffeine on no sleep. Did you know that you can actually check your drink’s caffeine count online HERE!??  – just click on your poison of choice. This is what I was doing at 3am last night while lying in bed wide awake. I picked out some new less caffeinated bevys to try in the next few weeks – we’ll see how this anti-coffee kick goes this time. LAST time… not so successful.

More healthy stuff… and the best stuff on earth – besides Snapple. Greek yogurt! So good with a banana, raspberries and almonds. Tastes just like dessert for breakfast.

greek love

 
WORKOUT – number two of the day – weights
One response

  1. Marta Myland

    Hello April! I just want to say I read all of your posts and love to know what you’re up to! Can’t wait to see you this weekend at the walk and btw if you overload on green tea (w/ agave nectar) like it’s coffee (caff and decaf) you will feel awesome… I did that instead of coffee for about 3 months and loved it:) Good luck with everything!!!

    October 20, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Leave a Reply

