Thanks Nelly

And I don’t mean THIS guy…

After reading Nelly’s blog yesterday I feel a little bit better about my ITB stuff and having to take off running for a while. I know it happens to the best of us and it’s comforting to know that other people have the same crazy thoughts and feelings going through their heads that I do when going through injury/rehab stuff. Us runners are a crazy breed by nature and are very hard on ourselves, so I think we take a major hit when we can’t run. When running is your therapy, your love, your favorite part of your daily life… when you can’t sleep at night because you are excited to get up and go for a 12 mile run the next day, then yes… you really really really miss it! And its way worse then taper time!!

But patience, patience, patience. This will be my goal for the next month… yoga, stretching, foam rolling and praying. Then – it’s back in the camel’s saddle and time to ride. And it will make the next long run, the next season of training and the next marathon all that much sweeter. Now if i can only stay sane in the meantime 😉

2 responses

  1. I do a decent job of keeping up with your posts, but I somehow missed this one! Thanks a lot for the shoutout! Your whole paragraph nailed the things I love about running, and it is tough to be out. I’m still not 100%, but I am close to being back to normal running stuff. For now I am run/walking as I try to get myself back into shape gradually. For IT band syndrome – using the GRID foam roller is probably the best thing that I use. It really seems to help. Also I try to do stretches for my IT band daily to help loosen it up. Hopefully my page helped some with ideas on things to try. I hope you are back on the roads soon!

    October 26, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    • yes, and thank you so much for your post! it definitely helped me to realize i am not alone in my ‘craziness’. i will definitely check out the grid roller. if all things are a go with me soon i’m in for SD again this year in june, so hopefully see you out there too!!

      October 29, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Leave a Reply

