Christmas in Mehoopany

christmas morning hike

Couldn’t wait to head up to the mountains this weekend. Although… waking up at 5:30am on a Saturday, NOT to run but to sit in a car for 2.5 hours is not my idea of a fun morning. Good thing I stopped and got SB on Friday to re-heat and bring with me. Yes… I am that crazy about my SB. Plus my Dad likes to make coffee half and half (half decaf and half regular) – really? what is the point of that? Anyway, I slept the whole way up which was awesome and we got to the lake house around 10am. Right to bed I went to take a two-hour nap.

packed and ready

Then the outside fun began! The weather was perfect (cold, but sunny and nice out). The only way to hang outside in the winter is to bundle up, drink something warm and hang by the fire. Perfect excuse to invent a new drink. Eggnog, coffee, and rum – heat it up in a mug and you are all set. And here’s a tip – if you want to stay extra warm, add extra rum.

the makings of a warm day

looks warm, but it's not!

Unfortunately Jake couldn’t hang out much this weekend because he had to work. But still managed to get into the Christmas spirit.
 

merry christmas eh!

Dad and I hung outside by the fire, reflecting on life, playing with the Murphster and taking pictures of “Harry Calloway” – don’t ask. It’s a long story and I wasn’t there anyway so I’m not even really sure how this one unfolded. Although I have a sneaky suspicion it started with a bottle of JB.

harry

I didn’t take too many pictures of all the food this weekend, probably because I ate all of it. But that’s pretty much all we did, ate… hung out, relaxed, laughed.

he just loves dressing up

At night we watched movies on the ‘big screen’ which I’m pretty sure is some type of X-ray equipment set up as a projector. Either way, cool and fun. And apparently also very tiring. Or maybe it was all the cookies.

sleepy kids

For whatever reason I got the great idea that I wanted to jump in the lake on Sunday and do a little polar bear plunge. I had everything planned that I was going to go for a run in the morning, around the lake and then jump in it. Well… woke up Christmas morning and the lake was starting to freeze. Probably better not to get hypothermia anyway. Maybe next year.

ice bath anyone?

frozen

Instead I took Murph out for a hike around the lake. The road turned into a dirt road which turned into a trail, and then a stream? Definitely would love to get some trail running sneakers and come back and do this again soon. I wasn’t sure about which way to go, so I kind of just winged it and hoped for the best. At one point I was a little nervous because there were a bunch of ‘no trespassing’ signs and I was literally in the middle of the woods. If it wasn’t for my little guard dog I would have been a little scaredy cat. Luckily we came to a dead-end and then climbed to the top of a hill and we saw a normal road again. Yay civilization! Sort of. 6.17 miles later and we were back at the house. I WILL be running this next time I’m up there.

murph likes the view

need trail sneaks

Merry Christmas!! (a day late)
 
One response

  1. Looks like a great time! Your concoction of egg nog, coffee and rum sounds really interesting, might have to try that!

    Funny picture of you sleeping next to your dog, haha

    And that looks like a good call on not jumping into the lake, looks freezing! And if the lake had frozen a bit on the top, that could have been dangerous trying to get back to the surface! lol

    December 28, 2011 at 1:16 am

Leave a Reply

