2012 – New Year, New Me

That is the saying, right? I love how a new year can give you a totally fresh start. Not really sure why that is, January 1st is pretty much the same as January 2nd, except that you are probably hung over. BUT for whatever reason, a new year can mean new goals, new attitude, new you. I have a lot to look forward to in 2012 and I know it’s going to be a damn good year! But I also have some changes that I want to make and a lot of goals that I want to meet. I’m honestly pretty happy with my life and myself and how I live, so there’s not a whole lot this year. My main goals are for running and training, and being a little healthier overall. So here are three simple yet important goasl. Let’s see how it goes.

1. OWN IT! – I need to start doing what I saw I’m going to do.

2. Find balance in my life

3. Eat healthy to fuel my body and treat it right

Running goals:

Run 3 marathons – Myrtle Beach , San Diego, NYC (apparently??) or Philly

Run 6 halfs – don’t have them all picked out yet but here are some possibilities – Allentown, New Orleans, Chicago … and whatever other ones I randomly come across. Hopefully in other cities.

PR – sub 4:00 marathon

And here’s a little something that I found while I was going through old journals. I wrote this last year I think sometime in the spring. Thought it was really meaningful and pretty much sums up everything I’d want for this year anyway…

What do I want out of life?

No regrets

Be happy, and I mean genuinely truly happy

Love myself

Meet new people everyday

Be nice, and I mean genuinely truly nice

Give to others for all the right reasons

Enjoy the little things

Step back, take a breath and look around

Run

Party

Not be jealous

Don’t care what people think about me or what I do

Don’t judge

Be happy for others success, and celebrate my own

Feel pain and learn from it

Laugh a lot

Pray and give thanks

Travel

Love again

2 responses

  1. Great list! I really like the be genuinely happy and find balance part. I think both are keys to great success. Good luck and I hope you exceed all of your goals for 2012.

    January 2, 2012 at 6:46 pm

  2. Pingback: Cold Turkey « Running Rocks

Leave a Reply

