Till I Collapse

That’s Ryyyyght, boya! This has got to be one of the best running songs. Very motivating, keeps you going and looking towards the end goal. And this is just how I felt today. I had that ‘I could run forever’ feeling. Which is awesomely amazing! Surprisingly the first two miles felt good too, which is usually not the case. Some knee pain after the second mile, ran through it and then again around mile 7. This seems to be a pattern and it’s not that bad so I can usually just run it off and it goes away. I really just enjoyed the run today. Didn’t pay attention to time or miles, just listened to music, planned my week out next week, thought about life and a lot of things. And tried to get some things figured out that I have been contemplating lately. Good thinking time! And so enjoyable to be outside doing something that I love.

I started off the morning at City Sports when they first opened to grab some KT tape (sorry Mike, I know you will be mad at me for going there ūüėČ ). Anyway, my doctors suggested that I try it so I ran in, chose the pink one and ran home to put it on before my run. I taped up my knees and IT band for support. Seemed to work really well, I definitely felt it helping out my right IT band and my knee caps were thanking me by the end of the run.

today's necessities

So as I said the beginning of the run went really well, I stopped after the first mile to stretch and pee. Yes, and porta-potties on KD do not compare to the nice bathrooms at VF. Although I was pleasantly surprised to find toilet paper (usually there is none). And then I dropped my I-pod on the floor in, what I only hope was mud.

Ok, enough about that. I didn’t take my camera or phone with me on this run because I just wanted to run and not worry about pics, etc. There would have been some good ones though. I drove to boathouse row instead of leaving right from my apartment so that I could stop back at the car for water or whatever else I needed. So, I did the loop around Kelly Drive, West River and past the Art Museum.¬†Back at my car… stretched and got some water. At that point I was about 8.5 miles in and felt great.

couldn't wait for this

Then it was just an out and back and I was done. Headed out to Manayunk¬†and made it to about Shurs Lane. Stopped again to stretch, and turned back. I could have kicked it up a little bit more at the end, but didn’t push it. All in all… a good run. Guess that Graston Technique yesterday really did the trick. How I feel tomorrow will be the real test though.

16 miles / 2:16 – splits 8:48, 9:07, 8:51, 9:03, 8:54, 8:56, 9:14, 9:02, 8:44, 8:55, 8:55, 8:54, 8:42, 8:41, 8:17, 8:16 (I like to see a lot of 8’s!!)

WORKOUT ‚Äď 16 miles !!
WEEK¬†2 ‚Äď Mon:6miles,JM,yoga,bike¬† Tues:spin,JM,yoga¬† Wed:6miles,2miles¬†speed,weights,yoga¬† Thur:bike,JM,yoga¬† Fri:REST¬†Sat:16 miles¬†Sun:yoga,JM,light recovery something?
2 responses

  1. Nice run!!!!!! Glad to hear you got through the pain!

    Cheers

    January 14, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    • thanks!! how is your training going??

      January 16, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

