Goals – the good, the bad, the ugly

Found THIS post today by MichaelRunner – an Ultra Marathoner and Cyclist (no, I don’t hate all of them) who I follow on Twitter. I’m really glad I read this because it made me step back a bit and really think about what I’m doing here over the next few months. Goals are great!! However, goals that are set too high or too unrealistic can be counter productive. One – if you set your goal ridiculously high that it would be impossible to achieve then you are going to be disappointed and down on yourself. For instance if I said I wanted to be a millionaire by the end of 2012, yes that is an amazing goal and of course I would want that – who wouldn’t? But is it going to happen? Not unless I win the lottery or find some rich dude to marry (better chances with the lottery). And number Two – goals are met to be set, and attained and then made bigger and better. So you want something that you can actually reach. I also love MR’s take on Training Sabotage and other people. Sometimes I would have to tell people that I gave up this or that during training or that I wanted to lose 5 more lbs. Or that I can’t go out because I wanted to run the next day. And people would say ‘ oh you are fine ‘ or ‘you can still drink’ or ‘you are crazy for trying to lose more weight’ etc. etc. Whatever the case may be but I would get really really annoyed. It’s not their goal it’s MY goal. And have they ever ran a marathon or trained their ass off for something that they wanted so badly!!? Maybe, maybe not. But unless they are me and have the same exact goal then don’t give advice or try to sabotage my good intentions. And last but not least… REST.

3 responses

  1. MichaelRunner

    Great post! I’m completely flattered that you read my blog. I love being able to use my experiences to give people a heads up once in a while. Sometimes a different perspective can help us look at our running, or whatever form of fitness we’re into, in a different way and see what the pitfalls might be. Keep up the great work!

    February 6, 2012 at 1:35 pm

  2. thanks so much! you definitely reminded me of a lot of what i need to be thinking about right now. sometimes you get caught up in the challenge and excitement.

    February 7, 2012 at 4:10 pm

  3. Reblogged this on feelgoodpictures.

    February 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm

Leave a Reply

