One Marathon Equals One Carrot Cake

5 gillion calories

How many marathons does it take to burn one big ass piece of carrot cake!? Probably more than one. I’d say… maybe two and a whole season of training. I’m not even sure how many calories were in this thing that I ate the other night but it was damn good. And I kind of didn’t even care.

Ok… so now I care. After running, and leading up to this race, I’ve pretty much been eating like food is going out of style despite the fact that I told myself I shouldn’t be. Well… I had 3 hours and 55 minutes to think about all this last Saturday and give myself a major mental pep talk. I also know my body could have worked a lot better and felt a lot better, had I been treating it like I was running a marathon, not like I was trying to score a spot on Biggest Loser. Although wouldn’t mind Bob Harper as a personal trainer (Shan – that one was for you 😉 ).

Anyway, thinking about all of this food stuff has finally put me back into my place. If you want to perform well, you have to pull out all the stops. You can’t go half-assed. It’s like training without doing speedwork (something else I’m awesome at doing). Besides the fact that your body recovers much quicker if you eat right, drink water and rest. So if PR-ing or BQ-ing is something that I truly truly want, then I have to step back and look at my life as a whole and not just as a ‘season’ or a ‘race’. It’s a lifestyle, it’s a love.

According to DailyMile I burned 3,053 calories while running Bi-Lo. Pretty cool. One of the reasons I love long runs.

WORKOUT – yoga class

ANATOMY FUN FACT – In the recovery period the conditions in muscle fibers are returned to normal, preexertion levels. After a period of moderate activity, it may take several hours for muscle fibers to recover. After sustained activity at higher levels, complete recovery can take a week.

3 responses

  1. runningscientist

    that carrot cake must be …..huge.

    i have to keep the balance healthier diet in mind now that i’ve been trying to BQ my next marathon. I’ve always been pretty healthy but its more about picking and being more choosy with my fuel for my runs. Training is hard and keeps us runners in great shape, but if we want that little edge, i think we gotta be that extra careful too. Then again, a small treat here and there…can’t live without those.

    February 24, 2012 at 5:22 pm

  2. I too am beginning to be more careful about my food intake. Not to the point of calorie obsession, just an awareness to help me PR at my next half-marathon….pretty much the way runningscientist describes it.

    Congratulations on a great marathon!

    February 25, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • it’s tough!! you are working so hard running that you want to reward yourself. you just have to remember how full you feel when you are running if you eat 5 pieces of pizza the night before, haha. good luck with your PR!

      February 26, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Leave a Reply

