It’s ON, Bitches!

SO true

I stole this from ChicRunner. She had the perfect post yesterday!! Exactly for what I needed to hear. A serious wake-up call. Stop complaining and being down on yourself and DO something about it. There’s no point in bitching about things that you actually have control over. ‘Take control over the things that you can change and accept the things that you can’t.’ – Right, Mike!!? PS – that also means working again!! 🙂

So I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not good at NOT running. I think we’ve discussed this before. I hate taper, I hate resting after a race, I hate rest days and days off. If I could run 13 miles per day, everyday without getting injured I would. But part of running and being a runner is not running. I might just need a better approach on this. Building up more miles spread out throughout the week and starting to run back to back days slowly will help build this. But I do need to be careful because anytime in the past that I’ve run back to back’s without giving myself rest days I got injured… so it’s a fine line that I’ll need to work on. But either way… who cares now, it’s marathon season and I’m jumping right back into it. I never should have taken this much time off because it fucked with my mind and didn’t help my ‘healthiness’ factor. So full steam ahead, back to running just to love it… and we’ll concentrate on marathon stuff in a month. I keep saying I want to be in shape to run a marathon or half anytime so that I can just jump right in and run one. Well, that doesn’t happen by taking too much time off and sitting around eating donuts. It comes from having running be your whole lifestyle. And I’d love for it to be like this anyway. But when you fall off the band wagon and you have a lot of other emotional stuff going on… it’s tough to keep it all together. I have a lot to look forward to, running wise in the next few months. My PR in Myrtle should give me the confidence and motivation to set a few new goals… really good goals and ones that I KNOW I can meet. But I really need to put all I have into it. I can’t keep pushing things off and just think that I’ll get better, or I’ll do it tomorrow, I’ll start tomorrow, etc etc. I want my running back that I had last year and last summer. I want to be super excited to wake up in the morning and run and to be able to push myself harder and harder. And that’s going to take a little while to get back… but it will and it’s ON, Bitches!!

I’ve also been watching this video non-stop. I posted this in the past but I love it and for whatever reason it makes me really want to kick some butt – and by that I mean my own. STRONG!!

throwback jacket

Great way to start it off this morning too with a nice run. I even pulled out the old school track jacket. Something about red that makes you feel good. My legs have been hurting and last week when I ran 7 last Friday my knee was bothering me afterward so I didn’t want to push it today. I thought 5-6 would be good but ended up doing 7 anyway and felt good. Tried to run a little faster than normal but I’m not quite ready to do that yet. Need to drop a few LBs first. Felt great to be out there though and not have marathon stress following me. Add in, coffee, sitting in the park, and eating breakfast while planning out my next races. Perfect start, let’s hope the rest of the week keeps it up.

are YOU in?

WORKOUT – 7 miles, TRX (if I can get into the class tonight!)

Leave a Reply

