Gone Running or Hunting

From the looks of this you’d think I was going Hunting. All this blinding brightness. Nope, just running stuff. Yesterday I met up with TNT for the first group training run of the season. 4.5 hours of sleep – much more than I was planning on. I was a little nervous since I hadn’t run more than 7 since the marathon. And to add to that was some foot pain and busted up in-grown toenail – hurts! At least I have cute polish on?

Valley Green is one of my fav places to run though and as soon as I got there I saw THIS GIRL. So psyched that she was there… and excited for her marathon coming up. She completed all her fundraising already and is getting set up for the NJ marathon the first weekend in May. Good Luck, Steph! I know you’ll do amazing.

Met some of the new coaches and participants which was nice. Banged out 12 plus some hill work which felt amazing. (note to self… need to do more of that). Definitely should have worn my trail sneaks though bc the Green is a little rocky at times. Some knee pain and foot pain was a little irritating but I was able to hang with the boys and run with them. Minus Laura who is super fast and blew by us. (note to self…. DO your speedwork).

So after talking to coach Josh I realize finally am listening that I need to slow it down a bit. I need a 2-4 year training plan and goals instead of ‘what race can I sign up for next!!?’, frantic attitude. I don’t need to get hurt, I don’t need to overdo it and not be able to run again. I’m really just starting out my distance running career and apparently I’ll be able to increase my performance a decent amount up until 35 (after that it just takes a little more work). So I’m working on my long-term training plan and goals for the remainder of a year, and thinking about what races I want to do next year. Planning, not random excited signing up for stuff. Training plan to come soon! Edge of your seats, I’m sure.

Rewind to yesterday post run. Compression socks, uggs, cruise control and seat warmers – bliss for tired legs. I hit up SB for my morning crack and hit the road. Stopped to pee twice but luckily it’s acceptable to look like this in the mountains.

And who doesn’t love a rest stop connected to a bar.

Perfect timing when I arrived because everyone was eating and already well into a few drinks. Re-fuel. Egg, honeydew and a Rock x3.

I also tried porcupine. Sautéed with peppers and onions. Dang good, ya’ll. Tastes like chicken short rib – delish.

WORKOUT – yesterday, 12 miles. today, rest day

2 responses

  1. Kim

    How did I miss you at practice on Saturday? Of course, you were way out ahead of me – you always are – but still, I never even saw you & with that much color, I’m not exactly sure how that happened. Next Saturday?

    March 26, 2012 at 9:28 am

    • I know, I was bright enough you’d think you could see me from a mile away! haha. Hope to make it next Saturday!!

      March 26, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

