What Bridge are You?

So if you live in the Philadelphia area you usually have a bridge that you prefer to use when you go over to NJ. Ben Franklin, Walt Whitman or…. what’s that other one? Oh yeah Betsy Ross… everyone forgets about her. Well I used to be a Walt Whitman user all the way. When I had my Sea Isle house (see Memory Lane Monday). I would cross over every Friday night after work heading down the shore for the weekend, feeling great and excited to party! And then every Sunday on my way home, feeling like crap and wondering how I was going to function at work the next day, trying to figure out the quickest way to recover so I could be fresh again for Friday and do it all over.

WW, got old and I’m not really a huge fan since I start using good old Bennie. Closer to my house now, I can jump on and off quickly and I think the Ben Franklin is much nicer. So I’m a BF girl now! Instagram from yesterday.

Anyway… so I needed a change of pace today on my run and I’ve been wanting to try running across the Ben Franklin – which apparently is pretty cool. So I put on my compression stuff and headed out the door.

It’s a nice walk there down Spruce St and through Washington Square and Society Hill area. I always forget how close this is. Cute little streets and old school historic architecture. I mean… who doesn’t come to Philly to check out where the Real World house was. Talk about some serious history.

Well crossing over the bridge was fun and I think this might be my new fav recovery run. You get to warm up with a walk, nice easy run, good views and a gradual hill across and back.

And you get to see cool things like this that you’d never know were here otherwise.

Plus who doesn’t love running across rush hour traffic instead of sitting in it. Ok – so of course there’s none down there for once in the life of Philly.

Legs feel good… ready for more!! Still trying to take it slow this week but I’m excited for a nice steady gradual  and hopefully healthy climb in mileage.

WORKOUT – 4 miles, yoga, JM

One response

  1. I “Ran” by the avenue, ’til my legs felt like stone,
    I heard the voices of friends vanished and gone,
    At night I could hear the blood in my veins,
    Black and whispering as the rain,
    On the “Bridges” of Philadelphia.

    😉

    May 7, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Leave a Reply

