1/2 Sauer 1/2 Kraut Half Marathon 2012 – Recap

Get ready for a lot of bitching. I saw this one coming from miles away… actually about 3.1 miles away. That’s when it hit. My hip tightened up unbearably and my groin was officially pulled. Only 3 miles into the race. W – T – F … was I going to do? This had all the fixings to be an awesome race experience. Costumes, casual run, small race, early morning, great course… just a fun atmosphere.

3:30 am wake up. Iced my plantar fascia which was randomly hurting. I thought I rolled out my legs pretty good. Groin still hurt pretty bad from last weekend and I still haven’t really been able to stand on one foot, or walk comfortably with it. So yeah why would I think running would be comfortable?

Super psyched once I got dressed and geared up, headed to my car and was off. Met up with Carl, John and Becca at the Acme on Roosevelt so we could all drive over and park together. I had to pee/go to the bathroom one more time TMI. Running into Acme dressed like this at 6:30am – everyone stares. First off – who is shopping that early on a Saturday morning?

Carl and I were like celebs, everyone was clicking pictures of us and asking if they could pose with us. Sure why not, it’s not every day that I get to feel like a celeb.

A little late on time but we were off…

Definitely felt funny running at first in a costume but it was fun! The path was really small so kinda impossible to pass people. Carl took off and I could not help but laughing as I saw his hot yellow ass and hat snaking his way through the crowd.

Mile 1 is where my hip and groin really started hurting and tightening up. By mile 3, ALL my hip flexors tightened and it was getting physically hard to swing my leg out. It felt like my left leg was moving and my right wasn’t doing anything. Like it didn’t get the Memo that we were running a Half Marathon today. Pain started to set in and I knew I was fucked. Barely a quarter of the way in, wondering what I should do and thinking there was no way I was going to finish this.

At the turn around point it seemed like there were still a lot of people behind me. I ran around a post and then ran back, crossing all the people who were behind me. Some guy shouted out that he wanted to marry me. I was like ‘get in line, buddy’, haha jk. I’m not that quick – didn’t think of that one until later. Instead I asked him if he was a chiropractor.

After the 6 something mark it was some running through a grass field and then through the woods. Seriously great course and some definite trail running in there. Which I was not expecting but was happy to slow down even more. Some dude who was behind me said I was pacing really well because he had been following me. I told him that I was 5 days out of another half and in excruciating pain. Oh well… at least that made me feel better. Pretty soon he took off though and I kept getting further and further back.

By this time, I didn’t care about my time, I didn’t care about anything I just wanted to be done and I wanted the pain to go away. DNF, DNF, DNF – played over and over again in my head. What if I just walked the rest? No, because that would take longer and I just want this to be over with. I yelled out ‘F*ck’ a few times, but that never really helps.

My Garmin hadn’t been working for a while which was probably better because seeing 12min per mile on there would have made things even worse I’m sure. But I cursed the Garm too – what is the point of having one if you can’t run in the woods with it.

Closer to the end, just being irritated and sooooo slow I was actually looking through my camera at the pictures of LP last weekend. What I would give to be back there at this point.

This bitch is never going to be over and I’m going to die on this course. And look like an ass in a St. Paulie Girl outfit. WTF – I was supposed to be cute and fast not just cute. And at this point I wasn’t even cute I was pissed off. And then some of the people who started passing me were talking about trying to break 2:00 – uugh. I could have smoked past these girls about 5 miles ago.

THEN the real annoying part is when people start saying ‘come on, you can do it… just a little bit more’. I wanted to scream “I’m NOT tired, I’m F*cking Injured!!!”

Disclaimer: first of all – any running that you do is amazing! I applaud people for getting out there, running and especially running endurance events. Not everyone can run Half Marathons or even attempt to try and it’s not an easy task. PR’s are just that – Personal Records. So 2 hours for one person is different for someone else. Please do not take this the wrong way when I’m saying I got a bad time or didn’t do well – this strictly means for ME personally.

Moving on. I saw the golf cart where they haul people off the course I think around mile 9 and contemplating asking them to take me back. Again – DNF, DNF …. just didn’t want it. I can do this, I can get through… and I have two weeks off and some recovery time to look forward to. I’ve finally reached my point of ‘April, you’re and idiot why do you keep doing this to yourself’. I’m a runner, I can’t help it.

Mile 11 I think I started to see the light at the end of the tunnel – literally. Two more, two more, two MF-ers more to go.

Ah – I saw the finish line. Looked over at some old dude and I bitched about my hip to him and said I’d been limping since mile 3. He said his gave out at mile 8! We high-fived for finishing and ran across the finish line. Then bitched some more and traded plans of recovery, doctor’s visits and worries about how we are going to heal quick enough for our next race. Ah – so runners don’t get smarter as they get older… they just push their limits even more. Good times.

At least I had a smile coming through the end?? Yeah thank God it was over.

6 responses

  1. Bummer that you had such a tough race – at mile 3 if I was in that much pain and it didn’t seem like I was into the race, I may have just DNFd. Hopefully you feel better soon!

    June 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    • yeah i should have!! i don’t know what i was thinking. nothing is worth getting more injured over. esp if you know you’re going to have a crappy time anyway. i think i learned my lesson this time, once and for all!

      June 20, 2012 at 5:06 pm

  2. Pingback: Fate Vs Determination « Running Rocks

  3. todkehrli

    Small world. I was there and posted a picture of you on my race recap. It was a really fun race and the beer selection sure beat the usual Mich Ultra.

    Hope you’re feeling better. I am headed in for am MRI on Friday.

    July 23, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    • so funny!! love your race recap. much more positive then mine, haha.

      July 23, 2012 at 8:22 pm

  4. Pingback: Wake the Fuck Up | Wit's End

Leave a Reply

