Why We Run (part two)

I wrote THIS a while back, on reasons why we run. And of course there is the whole REASON I ran the LLS Sponsored San Diego Marathon in the first place, and how Emotional it was and why I signed up with TNT. What keeps me motivated to run the long miles and what I think about when things get tough always come back to the reasons. And most importantly running for those who can’t.

There is no way you can watch this video without crying… so grab your box of tissues and your mascara and get ready for an full on bawl your eyes out cry sesh.

TERRY FOX’S MARATHON OF HOPE 

Any words that I come up with can’t even begin to describe this example of amazing-ness, honor, motivation, inspiration, true love and human perseverance. The impact that one person had on a Nation is just insane. You think about this and what Terry did and makes you feel like you can really accomplish anything if you put your mind to it.

People have asked me lately why I run. And why I run distance. I guess this is one of them, but there’s just something about the long miles, the solitude, the competition with your body, the mind games. Determination, pushing limits you never thought you could. Truly feeling your breath and life.

Speed is sex… distance is love.

xo ALW

2 responses

  1. Isn’t the Terry Fox story amazing? I’m assuming that you saw the ESPN documentary about him? That is the most inspiring thing I’ve ever watched, what determination and will he had. I wish I had been around when he was doing his run. A true hero.

    July 12, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    • I know!!! It makes me want to go out and do something amazing!! So inspirational… I think about him now sometimes when I’m running and it gets really tough.

      July 12, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Leave a Reply

