Conviction, Consistency, Compression

A formula that works. Hopefully. Three things that are important in running and in life.

Someone who I love and trust very much told me – once upon a time, that I have Conviction. Not gonna lie… had to ask exactly what that meant. But when I found out I realized I really like it. And true – I guess.

Here’s a little daily vocab word for ya’ll. Josh -stealing your idea.

Conviction [kuhn-vik-shuhn]

part of speech: noun

definition: belief, opinion

synonyms: confidence, creed, doctrine, dogma, eye, faith, feeling, judgement call, mind, persuasion, principle, reliance, say so, sentiment, slant, tenet, view

So how is this important to running ie. the root of all life and great things. Well you have to truly, truly believe you CAN do something. Marathons are belief, training and heart – split up in different ways. I think the first 13.1 miles of a marathon are believing you can do it, and actually getting out there and trying. 13.1 through mile 20 is training and physical ability. And 20-26.2 is heart and soul. But first and foremost there is that belief that you must have in order to even try. And this goes with life as well. You’re never going to try something if you don’t think or believe it can be done.

Step number one in Ape’s Training/Life plan is Conviction. Truth. And also because I like the word and who told it to me. 🙂

Photo Cred – ESK

Consistency – also very important. Training plans don’t work out if you aren’t consistent with what you are doing. This is something I need to majorly work on lately. I have not been consistent with training/eating/being healthy in general for the past year. Cut some slack with what I’ve had going on as well as injuries. But something I am trying very hard to change and work on. consistent, consistent, consistent. It’s a marathon – not a sprint. Each day and each little step will get you closer to where you want to be.

And of course… compression. Yes, I am obsessed with compression socks. They really do work (or maybe it’s in my head). Either way, recovery is a major part of running and life. You need time to heal – no matter what the case. And giving yourself that time will only make you stronger.

WORKOUT – yoga

xo ALW

2 responses

  1. My line was always that fitness got me through the first half and stubbornness got me through the second half, yours is better 😀

    July 27, 2012 at 8:45 am

    • I like that too! or ‘craziness’ – either one 🙂

      July 27, 2012 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

